June 14, 2015

Review of ACOTAR by S.J. Maas

Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Page Count: 416
Format: Hardcover
Genre: YA/Fantasy
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Any book by S.J. Maas is an instant must-read and A Court of Thorns and Roses was certainly no exception. Gorgeous cover, interesting description, fantasy, and S.J. Maas as the author were all highlights of ACOTAR. Despite being a separate series from her Throne of Glass books, ACOTAR turned out to be just as good and another example of S.J. Maas' amazing skills at writing.

I usually use Throne of Glass as a comparison for world-building and settings in other books and there's a reason for that, it almost never gets better than the TOG books. ACOTAR continues this trend with vibrant and rich settings, full of interesting and exciting places. From the map at the start of the book it's obvious that you're going to enjoy the book. Starting from the walled off human lands, to the different courts of the Fae kingdoms and the "mountain" a wide variety of areas are shown. So much is shown in so many details but there are still a ton of areas on the map that weren't shown in ACOTAR (although I hope  they will in the next two books). S.J. Maas continues off her excellent world-building writing in ACOTAR and once again manages to astound me.

Was there even a doubt that the characters and plot wouldn't be amazing as well? NOPE. We're talking S.J. Maas here after all. Feyre turned out to be one of my favorite main characters of 2015 and maybe even of all time. She's the sole provider in a family that's lost its fortune and is barely surviving. She's had to give up the finer things in life to learn skills like hunting to keep her two sisters and her father alive. She's been through one hell of a life, yet she's so strong even when she's in the Fae lands and has to experience all of its inhabitants. Tamlin, one of the first High Fae that Feyre meets and the savior of her life (and vice versa) was an amazing character as well. To be honest, I shipped him and Feyre from the start so needless to say I was very pleased with how events played out. Every single character from the humans to the Fae were complex and vivid. As I've said for other books I wouldn't mind short stories for some of the characters in ACOTAR either. The plot was simply perfect as well, making me smile and laugh at some places and making me sad and sorrowful in others. That ending turned out even better than I hoped and finished the book gracefully. I literally have nothing negative to say about S.J. Maas, amazing is but one word that describes her and her books.

Constantly topping my personal leaderboard of books, another example of S.J. Maas, ACOTAR has taken its spot as my current favorite book of 2015. Heir of Fire was the one for 2014 and ACOTAR continues the trend in 2015 (although it may have competition when Queen of Shadows comes out in September). Waiting for the sequel of ACOTAR will certainly be tough but at least Queen of Shadows is coming soon to lessen the difficulty. It doesn't matter who you are, if you read YA books then read ACOTAR. You won't regret it.

5/5 - AMAZING Book

No comments:

Post a Comment