June 27, 2014

ARC Review of The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Release Date: June 10, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Page Count: 398
Format: ARC
Genre: YA
An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.
Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.
The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?
Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.
*An ARC of this book was loaned to me as part of a On The Same Page tour in exchange for an honest and fair review*

I've been looking forward to The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings for almost two years now. I found out about Lindsay Cummings on Instagram and looked forward to reading it ever since then. About a month before it came out I participated in a ARC your featuring The Murder Complex. It more or less met my expectations and was an enjoyable quick read.

The world that The Murder Complex is set in is reminiscent to many other dystopian books with one expectation, the amount of death. The murder rate is higher than the birth rate and everyday hundreds of people are killed. Along with the destruction of the city there are also rotting bodies and no one is safe. A plethora of deaths are shown as well as bodies. Additionally, there is a good amount of background information given as well that explains the majority of what led to the world becoming the way it is. The world building isn't the best I've seen but is still fairly good.

The characters were more on the lower side, they were OK. They were fairly realistic although not as complex as I would have liked. There were two main characters with the point of view switching between the two. They have widely different backgrounds but when they find each other they become friends and then eventually more. There were several secondary characters as well and they supported the plot a good amount and helped it. There's not much else to say about the characters, they weren't the best I've read but they were still good.

The Murder Complex is the first in a trilogy and I will definitely be picking up the sequel. The book ends in a cliffhanger although it's not really that big. The Murder Complex is perfect for people who like murder, dystopia, and action.

4/5 - Good book

No comments:

Post a Comment